All-Star infield has a decidedly Yankee flair

All-Star infield has a decidedly Yankee flair

NEW YORK -- Three members of the Yankees' starting infield are on their way to punching tickets to the All-Star Game, holding steady in balloting at the second update.

Second baseman Robinson Cano, shortstop Derek Jeter and first baseman Mark Teixeira continue to pace their respective positions in the chase to represent the American League on July 13 at Angel Stadium.

After his name graced more AL ballots than anyone last year, Jeter is again a favorite of the fans, logging 1,005,810 votes in numbers released on Tuesday by Major League Baseball -- more than 500,000 over his nearest competitor at shortstop, the Rangers' Elvis Andrus. Only the Twins' Joe Mauer has received more overall AL votes, with 1,138,286.

Cano (811,300) is enjoying a commanding lead at second base over Red Sox counterpart Dustin Pedroia (487,733). Teixeira needed a late surge to make the All-Star team last year but he's out in front for now, logging 610,851 votes to put him ahead of the Twins' Justin Morneau, who has 527,688.

With Joe Girardi already assigned to pilot the AL squad from the home dugout at the All-Star Game, his star-studded roster of Yankees will continue pushing to join him in Anaheim.

At third base, Alex Rodriguez has received 623,268 votes, trailing the Rays' Evan Longoria by an increasing margin (915,247). Catcher Mauer is pacing all AL vote-getters and is well ahead of the second-place Jorge Posada (427,310).

Curtis Granderson, who made his first All-Star team last year, was ranked sixth among AL outfielders, receiving 385,383 votes. Nick Swisher (368,218) and Brett Gardner (364,470) were seventh and eighth, respectively.

The injured Nick Johnson, who is expected to be sidelined until after the All-Star Game, was not ranked in the top five among AL designated hitters.

Fans can cast their votes for starters up to 25 times at and all 30 club sites using the 2010 All-Star Game Ballot Sponsored by Sprint until July 1 at 11:59 p.m. ET.

Starting rosters will be announced during the 2010 All-Star Game Selection Show on TBS on July 4. Baseball fans around the world will then be able to select the final player on each team via the 2010 All-Star Game Final Vote Sponsored by Sprint.

And the voting doesn't end there. Fans will have the opportunity to participate in the official voting for the Ted Williams Most Valuable Player Award presented by Chevrolet at the Midsummer Classic via the 2010 All-Star Game MVP Vote Sponsored by Sprint.

The All-Star Game, to be played in Anaheim on July 13, will be televised nationally by FOX and around the world by Major League Baseball International. ESPN Radio will provide exclusive national radio play-by-play, while will offer extensive online coverage.

Jeter was last year's top AL vote-getter for the first time in his career, garnering 4,851,889 to earn his 10th All-Star selection and sixth as the starting shortstop. He went 0-for-2 with two runs scored and a hit-by-pitch in St. Louis. Teixeira went 0-for-3 while starting his second All-Star Game (after playing in 2005 while with the Rangers).

"It makes you feel good when people respect the way you play, even though they may not be Yankees fans. It means a lot," said Jeter. "I've said it time and time again, but it never gets old. It's something that every player wants to be a part of. If they tell you they don't, I think they're lying to you. There's a lot of great players out there."

In addition to online balloting at, fan balloting for the All-Star Game will run through June 13.

Bryan Hoch is a reporter for This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.