Broadcasters Sterling, Kay on Frick Award ballot

Broadcasters Sterling, Kay on Frick Award ballot

BOSTON -- Voting for the Hall of Fame's Ford C. Frick Award -- a prestigious honor given to broadcasters -- began Thursday for fans, who can cast ballots online.

Long-time Yankees voices John Sterling and Michael Kay appear among the 75 eligible broadcasters, which includes a pair from each of the 30 big league markets, as well as traditional fan-ballot favorites.

Voting concludes Sept. 30 at 5 p.m. ET. The top three fan selections will appear on the final 10-name ballot for the award, from which the winner is selected by a 20-member electorate. The winner will be announced at baseball's Winter Meetings in Dallas in December.

The Ford C. Frick Award has been presented annually since 1978 for excellence in baseball broadcasting, and is given to an active or retired broadcaster with a minimum of 10 years of continuous Major League broadcast service with a ballclub, network or a combination of the two.

In 2011, Tom Cheek (who led with 11,661 votes), Bill King and Jacques Doucet earned spots on the final Frick Award ballot via fan voting, now in its ninth year.