Jeter, A-Rod win Silver Slugger Awards

Jeter, A-Rod win Silver Slugger Awards

Yankees shortstop Derek Jeter and third baseman Alex Rodriguez kept adding to their illustrious careers Thursday, when they received Louisville Slugger's Silver Slugger Award in the American League for their respective positions. The pair has now won the award as part of the same infield two years in a row.

Rodriguez hit .302 with 35 home runs and 103 RBIs. For 11 consecutive seasons now, Rodriguez has hit at least 35 home runs and driven in more than 100 runs. He has hit higher than .300 in three of the past four years.

2008 Silver Sluggers
 C Joe Mauer, MIN
1B Justin Morneau, MIN
2B Dustin Pedroia, BOS
3B Alex Rodriguez, NYY
SS Derek Jeter, NYY
OF Josh Hamilton, TEX
OF Carlos Quentin, CWS
OF Grady Sizemore, CLE
DH Aubrey Huff, BAL
C Brian McCann, ATL
1B Albert Pujols, STL
2B Chase Utley, PHI
3B David Wright, NYM
SS Hanley Ramirez, FLA
OF Ryan Braun, MIL
OF Matt Holliday, COL
OF Ryan Ludwick, STL
P Carlos Zambrano, CHC

In his 14th season with the Yankees, Jeter hit .300 -- getting to the plateau for his fourth consecutive year -- while adding 11 homers, driving in 69 runs and appearing in 150 games.

Yankees players have won the award 33 times, with Reggie Jackson and Willie Randolph -- as a designated hitter and second baseman, respectively -- being the first in 1980.

Rodriguez, a 12-time All-Star and three-time AL Most Valuable Player Award winner, has won the Silver Slugger Award 10 times in his 15-year career as a third baseman and shortstop -- including three of the past four years. With A-Rod playing third base in New York, Jeter, a nine-time All-Star, has received the honor for three straight years.

Joe Mauer (catcher), Justin Morneau (first base), Dustin Pedroia (second base), Aubrey Huff (designated hitter) and outfielders Grady Sizemore, Josh Hamilton and Carlos Quentin rounded out the AL winners.

Louisville Slugger's Silver Slugger Award winners were determined by a vote of Major League Baseball coaches and managers who vote for the players they felt were the best offensive producers at each position in both the American and National Leagues in 2008. Selections are based on a combination of offensive statistics including batting average, on-base percentage and slugging percentage, as well as the coaches' and managers' general impressions of a player's overall offensive value. Managers and coaches were not allowed to vote for players on their own team.

The specially designed Silver Slugger will be presented to each player by a representative of the Hillerich & Bradsby Co., makers of Louisville Slugger, the official bat of Major League Baseball, in a ceremony early in the 2009 season. The trophy is three-feet tall and bears the engraved name of the winner and his Silver Slugger teammates in his respective league. The Silver Slugger Award was instituted by H&B in 1980.

Alden Gonzalez is an associate reporter for This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.