Now Commenting On:

Rivera, Pettitte to be honored by local BBWAA

Rivera, Pettitte to be honored by local BBWAA


Yankees pitchers Mariano Rivera and Andy Pettitte, who both retired at the end of the 2013 season, will be honored with the Joe DiMaggio Toast of the Town Award by the New York chapter of the Baseball Writers' Association of America.

The two Yankees greats will be a celebrated at the chapter's annual dinner on Jan. 25.

Tim McCarver, who retired from the broadcast booth at the conclusion of this year's World Series, also will be honored with the William J. Slocum and Jack Lang Long and Meritorious Service Award.

Others to be honored include Red Sox designated hitter David Ortiz (Babe Ruth Award for postseason MVP) and Boston Strong and the Red Sox (Arthur and Milton Richman You Gotta Have Heart Award).

Cash Kruth is a reporter for MLB.com. Follow him on Twitter at @cashkruth. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.

Boys and Girls Club of America

©2014 MLBAM, LP. All rights reserved.

The following are trademarks or service marks of Major League Baseball entities and may be used only with permission of Major League Baseball Properties, Inc. or the relevant Major League Baseball entity: Major League, Major League Baseball, MLB, the silhouetted batter logo, World Series, National League, American League, Division Series, League Championship Series, All-Star Game, and the names, nicknames, logos, uniform designs, color combinations, and slogans designating the Major League Baseball clubs and entities, and their respective mascots, events and exhibitions. Use of the Website signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy (updated May 24, 2013).

View MLB.com in English | En Español