CLOSE

Now Commenting On:

Yankees open 2014 Spring Training schedule on Tuesday, February 25

The New York Yankees today announced the club's 2014 spring training schedule, featuring a total of 32 spring training games with 17 home games-including 16 Grapefruit League games against Major League opposition-at George M. Steinbrenner Field.

The Yankees will play their first spring game on February 25 at 1:05 p.m. against the Florida State University baseball team at Steinbrenner Field. The Yankees will play their first Major League spring game the next day, February 26 at 1:05 p.m. against the Pirates in Bradenton. The club's first home Major League spring game will take place on February 27 at 1:05 p.m. vs. Pittsburgh.

More

Home opponents include each of the Yankees' four American League East rivals - Baltimore (March 4 at 7:05 p.m. and March 13 at 1:05 p.m.), Tampa Bay (March 9 at 1:05 p.m.), Boston (March 18 at 1:05 p.m.) and Toronto (March 23 at 1:05 p.m.). The Yankees are scheduled to play four Friday games at Steinbrenner Field, with three of those games scheduled to begin at 7:05 p.m. (March 7 vs. Detroit, March 21 vs. Pittsburgh and March 28 vs. Miami). They will play two additional home night games on March 4 vs. Baltimore and March 25 vs. Philadelphia.

Season tickets for 2014 Yankees Spring Training home games go on sale on November 18 at www.steinbrennerfield.com or www.yankees.com. Individual-game spring tickets will go on sale on Friday, January 10 at 10:00 a.m. at the Steinbrenner Field box office, online at www.yankees.com or by calling Ticketmaster at (800) 745-3000.

For ticket information, fans can call (813) 879-2244 or visit www.yankees.com or www.steinbrennerfield.com.

Pitchers and catchers are scheduled to report to spring training on February 14, and hold their first workout on February 15. Position players are scheduled to report on February 19. The club's first full-squad workout is scheduled for February 20.

This will be the Yankees' 19th spring training at George M. Steinbrenner Field in Tampa. The complex was renamed for the Yankees' longtime Principal Owner on March 27, 2008, following two unanimous resolutions supporting the change issued by the Hillsborough County Commission and the Tampa City Council. The resolutions cited Mr. Steinbrenner's many charitable donations to youth activities, hospitals and the arts, and recognized his numerous extraordinary contributions to the area.

 

2014 NEW YORK YANKEES EXHIBITION SCHEDULE

(All times are Eastern and subject to change. ss=Split Squad)

 

Date                         Opponent                                                  Site                  Time

Tue., Feb. 25 vs. Florida State University GMS Field 1:05 p.m.

Wed., Feb. 26 at Pittsburgh Bradenton 1:05 p.m.

Thur., Feb. 27 vs. Pittsburgh GMS Field 1:05 p.m.

Fri., Feb. 28 at Detroit Lakeland 1:05 p.m.

Sat., Mar. 1 vs. Philadelphia GMS Field 1:05 p.m.

Sun., Mar. 2 at Toronto Dunedin 1:05 p.m.

Mon., Mar. 3 vs. Washington GMS Field 1:05 p.m.

Tue., Mar. 4 vs. Baltimore GMS Field 7:05 p.m.

Wed., Mar. 5 at Tampa Bay Port Charlotte 1:05 p.m.

Thur., Mar. 6 at Philadelphia Clearwater 1:05 p.m.

Fri., Mar. 7 vs. Detroit GMS Field 7:05 p.m.

Sat., Mar. 8 at Houston Kissimmee 1:05 p.m.

Sun., Mar. 9 vs. Tampa Bay GMS Field 1:05 p.m.

Mon., Mar. 10 Off Day

Tue., Mar. 11 at Washington Viera 1:05 p.m.

Wed., Mar. 12 vs. Detroit GMS Field 1:05 p.m.

Thur., Mar. 13 vs. Baltimore (ss) GMS Field 1:05 p.m.

at Philadelphia (ss) Clearwater 1:05 p.m.

Fri., Mar. 14 vs. Minnesota GMS Field 1:05 p.m.

Sat., Mar. 15 at Baltimore Sarasota 1:05 p.m.

Sun., Mar. 16 vs. Atlanta GMS Field 1:05 p.m.

Mon., Mar. 17 at Pittsburgh Bradenton 1:05 p.m.

Tue., Mar. 18 vs. Boston GMS Field 1:05 p.m.

Wed., Mar. 19 at Atlanta Lake Buena Vista 1:05 p.m.

Thur., Mar. 20 at Boston Ft. Myers 1:05 p.m.

Fri., Mar. 21 vs. Pittsburgh GMS Field 7:05 p.m.

Sat., Mar. 22 at Minnesota Ft. Myers 1:05 p.m.

Sun., Mar. 23 vs. Toronto GMS Field 1:05 p.m.

Mon., Mar. 24 Off Day

Tue., Mar. 25 vs. Philadelphia GMS Field 7:05 p.m.

Wed., Mar. 26 at Toronto Dunedin 1:05 p.m.

Thur., Mar. 27 at Pittsburgh Bradenton 1:05 p.m.

Fri., Mar. 28 vs. Miami GMS Field 7:05 p.m.

Sat., Mar. 29 vs. Miami GMS Field 1:05 p.m.

Time, opponent, date and team rosters and lineups, including the Yankees' roster and lineup, are subject to change.

 

Less
{}
{}