With one out, Posada on third and Cano on first, Nick Swisher grounded a ball back to the mound, where pitcher Darren Oliver threw home. Posada, caught in a rundown, attempted to retreat back to third base, but Cano had already advanced there. And though replays clearly showed that both players were off the base when Napoli tagged them, only Posada was called out.
"On that play, I've got to stay in the rundown," Posada said Wednesday, after viewing the replay. "Robbie was at third base. I'm the one that's out. Now that I see it on replays all the time, it seemed like Robbie was off the bag, too. That's all I can say."
Third-base umpire Tim McClelland said afterward that he thought Cano was on the base.
"[The replay] showed that Cano was off the bag when he was tagged," McClelland said. "I did not see that, for whatever reason."
"It happens," Posada said. "Like I said, I'm in the rundown and I'm trying to get Robbie to third base and trying to get [Swisher] to second base, also."
It was not Posada's only blunder in the game. One inning later, the catcher nearly cost the Yankees a run when he jogged off the field after a double play. The problem was the Yankees had only recorded two outs in the inning.
Angels outfielder Torii Hunter, who was on third base at the time, took two quick steps home in an attempt to score. But Alex Rodriguez, noticing Posada's mistake, dashed ahead of Hunter to cover the plate, arresting Hunter's progress and ensuring that the mental blunder would not be costly.
"That happens sometimes," Posada said. "You hope it doesn't, but it happens."